No static DNS?

29Nov10

I just got a hand-me-down Linksys WRT54GC to replace my failing WAP. Since it has a router it also replaces my trusty Linksys BEFSR41. However, I’ve just learned that the much newer router lacks the ability to set static DNS servers for your local clients, a feature which was available on the much older one. So now there’s no way to forcibly opt all network clients out of Comcast’s shitty all-resolving DNS servers.

Time to finally implement the home server I’ve been meaning to set up for a long time, I guess. At least that way I can run a radius server and do fun things with wireless authentication. And I guess I could do it under dd-wrt or openwrt now that I have extra hardware to play with…

No Responses Yet to “No static DNS?”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

